EB083 Dev Board

For E-blocks user to discuss using E-blocks and programming for them.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 7432
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 1999 times
Been thanked: 2886 times
Contact:

EB083 Dev Board

Postby medelec35 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:06 am

As the test routine on this page is in hex format, and it's for 16F88 as stated within the datasheet.
Verified not working with 16F1937
Do you think it would be a good idea to Just use a flowchart?
People may just want to use their own target device or just the microcontroller that's shipped with EB006 (16F1937).

Also which position is SEG0, Nearest switches or nearest edge of the board?

On my revision one board its labelled as nearest the Edge.
However with EB083 component, SEG0 is nearest the Switches.
Although there are no labels on the model.
Perhaps as an update, the model can have the labels SEG0 to SEG3 added?
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
Benj (Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:36 pm)
Rating: 5.88%
 
If your hardware is not working as expected, try looking here first:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... =26&t=6936

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 12708
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3556 times
Been thanked: 3439 times
Contact:

Re: EB083 Dev Board

Postby Benj » Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:46 pm

Hi Martin,

I've re-uploaded the test routine file and it now contains the source as well as a 16F1937 version of the hex file.

The labels on the EB083 board are wrong. The Right most segment is segment 3, the left most segment is segment 0.

This has been fixed on the EB2 version of the board but adding the labels to the components is a good idea so I'll make sure this happens.

Edit: Was quick to do so while it's in my mind I made the change to the component.

ComboBoard.fcpx
(126.61 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
These users thanked the author Benj for the post:
medelec35 (Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:00 pm)
Rating: 5.88%
 

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 7432
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 1999 times
Been thanked: 2886 times
Contact:

Re: EB083 Dev Board

Postby medelec35 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:06 pm

Thanks Ben.
Perfect!
Makes life easier when involving Quad 7seg LED Display.
If your hardware is not working as expected, try looking here first:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... =26&t=6936

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 7432
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 1999 times
Been thanked: 2886 times
Contact:

Re: EB083 Dev Board

Postby medelec35 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:22 pm

Hi Ben I have tried the hex file witin the source folder and does not work for me.
Looking at the flowchart, I was confused:
EB083_Test V7.png
EB083_Test V7.png (105.07 KiB) Viewed 411 times

I thought the board connects to ports A and B since using internal OSC and EB083(V1) does label connectors PORT A & PORT B.
With EB006 V9 jumper on A6&7.

I wondering about duplicate LCD & pots + 2 switches arrays are connected to port A
Also 2 led arrays are connected to port B

Switches and LEDs is just cosmetic as I/P and O/P ports are correct within Flowchart
If your hardware is not working as expected, try looking here first:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... =26&t=6936

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 12708
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3556 times
Been thanked: 3439 times
Contact:

Re: EB083 Dev Board

Postby Benj » Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:25 pm

Hi Martin,

It looks like we made the test file before the component was done and so it's probably not ideal. I might have a refactor if I get some time later on and redo the code using the EB083 component.

The LEDs and Switch arrays are connected incorrectly which doesn't help, I noticed this only after uploading the file. As you say it's only cosmetic but could easily cause confusion for users especially if they are trying to simulate something.

The duplicate LCD allows the test messages to be printed to an LCD on Port D while testing the combo board on A and B.